PROCEEDINGS OF THE PARISH SCHOOL BOARD OF THE PARISH OF WEST CARROLL, STATE OF LOUISIANA, TAKEN AT A REGULAR MEETING May 3, 2021.

The Parish School Board of the Parish of West Carroll, State of Louisiana, met in a regular session at its regular meeting place, the West Carroll Parish Media Auditorium, in Oak Grove, Louisiana, Monday, May 3, 2021 at 6:30 P.M. pursuant to the following written notice to each and every member thereof:

Agenda for Board Meeting May 3, 2021

The West Carroll Parish School Board will meet at the West Carroll Parish Media Auditorium, Oak Grove, Louisiana, Monday, May 3, 2021 at 6:30 p.m. for the following purposes:

- 1. To approve the minutes of the March 1, 2021 Finance Committee Meeting,
- 2. To approve the minutes of the April 5, 2021 Regular School Board Meeting,
- 3. To approve the minutes of the April 19, 2021 Special School Board Meeting,
- 4. To recognize the 2020-2021 School Bus Driver of the Year,
- 5. To recognize the week of May 3-7, 2021 as National Teacher Appreciation Week,
- 6. To approve Allen, Green, & Williamson, LLP to prepare audited financial statements for the 2021 fiscal year,
- 7. To discuss the status of the WCPSB facility currently being utilized by the West Carroll Parish Sheriff's Department,
- 8. To receive information concerning resignations, leaves, contracts and transfers.

Cullen Kovac led in prayer.

MEMBERS PRESENT: Marilyn Haley, Tracey Rios, Cullen Kovac, Todd Smith, and Julie Linson

MEMBERS ABSENT: James C. Burrell and Shane Ray

OTHERS PRESENT: Christy Boyte, Angela Johnson, Angela Anderson, Larry Boyte, Archie Haley, Deborah Evans, John Warner, Joanna Beard, Randy Orr, Vendal Fairchild, Belinda Chop, Camilla Tilton, Jackie Washington, Richard Calhoun, and Penny Hale.

The Parish Board of the Parish of West Carroll, State of Louisiana, was duly convened as the governing authority of the parish for school purposes by the Honorable Marilyn Haley, President, who then stated that the Parish School Board was ready for the transaction of business.

Addendum Cullen Kovac made a motion, seconded by Julie Linson, to add 1 item to the original agenda between original items #7 and #8.

1. To finalize the hiring of Mrs. Christy Boyte and superintendent.

FOR THE MOTION: Todd Smith, Tracey Rios, Marilyn Haley, Julie Linson, and Cullen Kovac. **AGAINST THE MOTION:** None

ABSENT AND NOT VOTING: Shane Ray and James C. Burrell

THE MOTION PASSED UNANIMOUSLY.

ITEM #1 Julie Linson made a motion, seconded by Tracey Rios, to approve the minutes of the March 1, 2021 Finance Committee meeting.

FOR THE MOTION: Todd Smith, Tracey Rios, Marilyn Haley, Julie Linson, and Cullen Kovac.

AGAINST THE MOTION: None

ABSENT AND NOT VOTING: Shane Ray and James C. Burrell

THE MOTION PASSED UNANIMOUSLY.

Todd Smith made a motion, seconded by Julie Linson, to approve the minutes of the April 5, 2021 Regular School Board meeting.

FOR THE MOTION: Todd Smith, Tracey Rios, Marilyn Haley, Julie Linson, and Cullen Koyac.

AGAINST THE MOTION: None

ABSENT AND NOT VOTING: Shane Ray and James C. Burrell

THE MOTION PASSED UNANIMOUSLY.

ITEM #3 Cullen Kovac made a motion, seconded by Todd Smith, to approve the minutes of the April 19, 2021 Special School Board meeting.

FOR THE MOTION: Todd Smith, Tracey Rios, Marilyn Haley, Julie Linson, and Cullen Kovac.

AGAINST THE MOTION: None

ABSENT AND NOT VOTING: Shane Ray and James C. Burrell

THE MOTION PASSED UNANIMOUSLY.

ITEM #4 Mr. Jackie Washington was recognized as the 2019-2020 School Bus Driver of the Year.

Mr. Richard Calhoun was recognized as the 2020-2021 School Bus Driver of the Year.

ITEM #5 The board recognized May 3-7, 2021 as National Teacher Appreciation Week.

Todd Smith made a motion, seconded by Julie Linson, to approve Allen, Green, & Williamson, LLP to prepare audited financial statements for the 2021 fiscal year.

FOR THE MOTION: Todd Smith, Tracey Rios, Marilyn Haley, Julie Linson, and Cullen Kovac.

AGAINST THE MOTION: None

ABSENT AND NOT VOTING: Shane Ray and James C. Burrell

THE MOTION PASSED UNANIMOUSLY.

Mr. James C. Burrell arrives. 6:38p.m.

ITEM #7 Board received information regarding the WCPSB facility currently being utilized by the West Carroll Parish Sheriff's Department.

Addendum Julie Linson made a motion, seconded by Tracey Rios, to hire Mrs. Christy Boyte as the superintendent of West Carroll Parish Schools beginning Tuesday, May 4, 2021 and ending December 31, 2024 at agreed upon salary.

FOR THE MOTION: Todd Smith, Tracey Rios, James C. Burrell, Marilyn Haley, Julie Linson, and Cullen Kovac.

AGAINST THE MOTION: None

ABSENT AND NOT VOTING: Shane Ray **THE MOTION PASSED UNANIMOUSLY.**

ITEM #8 Tracey Rios made a motion, seconded by James C. Burrell, to receive information concerning resignations, leaves, contracts and transfers.

Retirement: Joanna Beard, Polly McKaskle;

Resignations: Suzanne Clement, Molly Long, Amy Peacock.

FOR THE MOTION: Todd Smith, Tracey Rios, James C. Burrell, Marilyn Haley, Julie Linson, and Cullen Kovac.

AGAINST THE MOTION: None

ABSENT AND NOT VOTING: Shane Ray **THE MOTION PASSED UNANIMOUSLY.**

Cullen Kovac made a motion, seconded by Todd Smith, to adjourn.

FOR THE MOTION: Todd Smith, Tracey Rios, James C. Burrell, Marilyn Haley, Julie

Linson, and Cullen Kovac.

AGAINST THE MOTION: None

ABSENT AND NOT VOTING: Shane Ray **THE MOTION PASSED UNANIMOUSLY.**

Adjournment was at 7:00 P.M.

Marilyn Haley, President West Carroll Parish School Board Christy Boyte, Secretary West Carroll Parish School Board